Kino Delirium

The Films of Guy Maddin

Caelum Vatnsdal

  • ISBN-13: 9781894037112
  • PRICE: $17.95
“Caelum Vatnsdal has composed [an exploration] with a random magniloquence well suited to its subject.” — Stuart Klawans

Since the release of his first cult-classic feature, Tales From the Gimli Hospital, Guy Maddin’s unique films, such as Archangel, Careful, and Twilight of the Ice Nymphs, have fascinated and enthralled audiences around the globe. Maddin has been the subject of an award-winning documentary, is the youngest filmmaker to win the Telluride Lifetime Achievement Award–placing him in the company of the giants of modern directors–and continues to inject his singular vision into the lexicon of world cinema.

In Kino Delirium, Caelum Vatnsdal uses interviews, criticism, photographs, a complete filmography, a never-before-published script, and Maddin’s own memoirs and manifestos to present the first comprehensive exploration into the life and work of this world-renowned artist.

“How–and to ask the more urgent question, why–has Guy Maddin created his handmade toylike cinema of delirium? Those of us who have been rapt before his pictures–those magical instruments for converting antiquarianism into novelty, irony into candor, decadence into innocence–will be grateful for this insider’s account of his life and career, which Caelum Vatnsdal has composed with a random magniloquence well suited to its subject.” — Stuart Klawans, author of Film Follies: The Cinema Out of Order.

“Here’s the Guy Maddin paradox: in any other country but Canada he’d be a national treasure, but what other country but Canada could possibly have produced his particular genius? It’s the kind of thing one wonders while gazing upon his awesome weirdness.” — Geoff Pevere, co-author of Mondo Canuck: A Canadian Pop Culture Odyssey.

Caelum Vatnsdal

Caelum Vatnsdal is an award-winning writer and filmmaker, and a frequent culture commentator for CBC Radio. His book Kino Delirium: The Films of Guy Maddin (ARP 2000) won the 2001 Carol Shields City of Winnipeg Book Award.